Best Books of 2015

It’s that time of year again when Best Book lists abound and surprise, surprise, here’s mine. I haven’t read nearly as many books in the past 12 months as I would have liked, mostly because I’ve really been devoting time to my writing (my goal going into 2015). That said, I have read some truly fantastic books that I know will stick with me for a long time. My favourites of 2015 were:

The Thing About JellyfishThe Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin (middle grade) – This book about a girl dealing with the loss of her friend stands out above all the rest I read this year. It stole my breath. It is a book I think every young girl should read and I could easily see it becoming a childhood classic.

daughters-unto-devilsDaughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics (young adult) – Creepy and compelling, Lukavics’ Little House on the Prairie gone horribly wrong still haunts me.

Lola and the Boy Next DoorLola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins (young adult) – Okay, so this book wasn’t published in 2015 but I did read it 2015. This book was adorable, fun and had quirky, memorable characters. The perfect escape read to buoy your spirits.

What books stood out for you in 2015? Share your answers in comments.

So what’s to come in the year ahead for Bookish Notions? I’ll still be here, reviewing at my own pace and writing about the books I love and even the ones I don’t. I would like to devote more time to picture book reviews as I’ve let that fall by the wayside of late and there is such a wealth of picture books on the market right now. I’ll also be plunking away at my writing-in-progress projects so fingers crossed I’ll be sharing good news about that in 2016.

Have a safe and enjoyable new year and, as always, happy reading!

~Danielle

Share Your Thoughts

