Recap: Book Blog Ontario Meet-Up 2015

Last weekend book bloggers from all over Ontario braved the heat and congregated in downtown Toronto for the 4th annual Book Blog Ontario Meet-Up—and happily, I was among them! This year things got changed up a bit from past events (my recaps from 2012 and 2013) and we met at The Ballroom in their events room. This space was much more mingle-friendly, with everyone standing, compared to the other meet-ups where we were all sitting at tables, and I found this set-up got me out of my shell more and meeting a lot more bloggers and authors.

The event started at 1:00 and upon entering we were greeted by the lovely ladies of Book Blog Ontario, who organized the shin-dig. Everyone got a name tag, a raffle ticket and a grab bag full of awesome new and upcoming books. Big thanks to the following publishers for all the loot: Simon & Schuster, Little, Brown, Scholastic, Harlequin, Dundurn and Publishers Group Canada! (Psst! A few books in my swag bag, I already have so stay tuned for a giveaway or two.)

My amazing loot! *happy dance*

My amazing loot! *happy dance*

Rather than a sit-down for lunch like at past meet-ups, this time there were tables with veggie platters and chips, salsa and guacamole. There was also a cash bar with a supernice bartender.

With author Sadie Munroe

With author Sadie Munroe

I met up with author/blogger Sadie Munro right away, then braved the crowd to find a few bloggers I had promised books to. Shout out to Hayley from Booking It with Hayley for bringing me Dorothy Must Die and Jaclyn from Literary Treats for Off the Page! So nice seeing some old faces again and getting to know a bunch of new-to-me bloggers, as well.

In addition to about 50 book bloggers there were also authors Leah Bobet, Kevin Sands, Erin Bow, Sally Christie, K.A. Tucker and Danielle Younge-Ullman. It is always a great experience getting to meet and chat with authors in such a casual setting. I got my new ARC of The Scorpion Rules signed by Erin Bow. I also got Kevin Sands to sign my ARC of The Blackthorn Key. I had a really nice chat with Kevin about his journey to getting published and when he found out I’m a proofreader he told me a fun story about how a careful reader saved his book from having a serious error in some code. He said I likely wouldn’t notice it in the ARC (challenge accepted!) He was extremely nice and easy to talk to—thanks for letting me talk your ear off about publishing, Kevin!

Throughout the afternoon servers came around with trays of delicious food. There were beef sliders, BBQ chicken kebobs, flat bread, individual poutines and individual fish and chips (which I thought were so cute) and little mac-and-cheese cups. Sadly I kept missing the mac-and-cheese, but everything else was so yummy!

At The Ballroom before things got really crazy.

At The Ballroom before things got really crazy.

Our hosts did the raffle with great prices from gift cards to Out of Print to adorable bookish tote bags filled with books and swag. No, I didn’t win anything *sigh* but I may have drooled over the tote bags from afar just a smidge.

I think it was another very successful event and already I’m looking forward to the next meet-up (after I read all my new books, of course).

Thanks for the fun, Book Blog Ontario!

For more pictures and details, check out the Book Blog Ontario’s awesome recap here.

One thought on “Recap: Book Blog Ontario Meet-Up 2015

  1. Pingback: [Ontario Book Blogger Meet-Up 2015] – Event Recap + Haul | thoughts and afterthoughts.

Share Your Thoughts

