Getting ‘er Done: Writing Goal Check-In

Miss me?

I know, I know… It’s been a while since my last post. But that’s because I’ve been writing!

                              Must. Write. More.                                  Source: UnluckyLuke via Panda Whale

I’m working on a YA time-slip novel revolving around an old hotel from my hometown and at the beginning of the year I made up my mind to hunker down and get ‘er done. So I made myself a goal of getting my novel-in-progress to 80,000 words by May 1st. Well, the deadline has come and gone… How did I do?

My word count is currently sitting at 74,000.

Am I disappointed that I didn’t hit the 80k mark? No. Why? Because in the process of striving to get to my goal I was able to finish a first draft by my deadline. I brought my story to a close, wrote THE END (possibly the most satisfying two words ever) and now I have something vaguely resembling a novel in my hands. I’m not sure I would be able to say that if I hadn’t had a deadline breathing down my neck.

It isn’t ready for anyone else’s eyes but mine yet, but I have pages and pages of notes and research, and am now diving into revisions feeling pretty good about it.

What’s next? My goal is to have a draft ready for critiquing by June. So soon!

Better get back to it, then.

Ta for now,

Danielle

Did you make any writing resolutions this year? How are they going? I’d love to hear about your progress in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Getting ‘er Done: Writing Goal Check-In

Share Your Thoughts

