The Perfect Holiday Read: Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson & Lauren Myracle


Let It Snow

From SPEAK, an imprint of Penguin: An ill-timed storm on Christmas Eve buries the residents of Gracetown under multiple feet of snow and causes quite a bit of chaos. One brave soul ventures out into the storm from her stranded train and sets off a chain of events that will change quite a few lives. Over the next three days one girl takes a risky shortcut with an adorable stranger, three friends set out to win a race to the Waffle House (and the hash brown spoils), and the fate of a teacup pig falls into the hands of a lovesick barista.

Ah, the holidays. One of my favourite times of the year. And while I burn through every Christmas movie and CD I own in the weeks leading up to the holidays, I don’t have any Christmas-specific novels that are a part of my holiday traditions. Until now. Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle (SPEAK) tells three interconnected stories all set between Christmas Eve and Boxing Day. And it quickly earned a spot in my yuletide traditions.

These three romantic novellas had me feeling the holiday spirit for sure. It had me wanting to make snow angels and go sledding and kiss my loved one (though preferably not by the buffet table post pickled fish).

I really enjoyed seeing how the three very different stories came together. The authors’ styles complement each other, while maintaining their own flare and distinct voices. I felt Myracle’s story was a bit rushed, but overall the stories were smartly written, and the right mix of outrageous and uplifting. It had me laughing the whole way through.

Funny, sweet and chock-full of snow shenanigans, Let It Snow will warm the heart of even the Grinchiest reader. I highly recommend adding this collection to your own holiday traditions.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (4/5 hearts)

Have you read Let It Snow? Which of the three novellas was your favourite?

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Holiday Read: Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson & Lauren Myracle

  1. Pingback: Best Books I Read in 2014 | Bookish Notions

  2. Ah I need to read this book next Christmas! Maybe I’ll be rebellious and I’ll read it soon enough though LOL Loved this review, I heard a lot of good things about Let It Snow especially about John Green’s novella!

    By the way, I just started my blog and would love it if you check it out and follow if you enjoy my review(s). 😀

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Would Be Great Movies/TV Shows #3 | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

