Sharing Some Good News, or Why Butterflies Have Taken Up Residence In My Stomach

This week I received some amazing news and such news demands to be shared. A short story I wrote, entitled “Catch of the Day,” won the Eden Mills Writers’ Festival Fringe contest! The contest is for new or emerging writers who have not yet been published in book form. And I won! I am still reeling from the news.

What thiEden Mills Writer's Festival logos means is that I will be reading at the festival, in the lovely little village of Eden Mills, ON, on September 14, 2014!

This is my first public reading of my own writing outside of school (hopefully all those years of speech-making in grade school will come in handy). Check it out—my name is on the schedule and everything:

Fringe Schedule 2014

*schedule subject to change

Ain’t it a beautiful thing?

I will be reading between 1:30 and 2:30 p.m. at The Cottage along with other contest winners. Come out and see me if you are in the area! There will also be chapbooks of the winning entries available for purchase at the festival. And definitely take advantage of all the other great readings going on from some of the biggest names in publishing. Also be sure to peruse Publishers’ Way where booksellers, publishers and artisans showcase their wares. I’ve been to the festival before and it really is a lovely time. Spend the day outside with great books and great authors.

For festival details, and ticket and schedule information visit the EMWF website: edenmillswritersfestival.ca.

You can find my recap from my last EMWF experience here.

2 thoughts on “Sharing Some Good News, or Why Butterflies Have Taken Up Residence In My Stomach

  1. Pingback: Recap: Eden Mills Writers’ Festival…From The Other Side | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

