Review: The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen

he Shadow Throne

From Scholastic:

Fight for the future…die for the throne.

War has come to Carthya. And when Jaron learns that King Vargan of Avenia has kidnapped Imogen in a plot to bring Carthya to its knees, Jaron knows it is up to him to embark on a daring rescue mission.

But even with his lightning-quick wit, Jaron cannot forestall the terrible danger that descends on him and his country. Along the way, will he lose what matters most? And in the end, who will sit on Carthya’s throne?

The Shadow Throne, the third and final book in Jennifer A. Nielsen’s Ascendance Trilogy, picks up not long after The Runaway King. Avenia has declared war on Jaron’s kingdom, Carthya. Now not only is the fate of his people on his shoulders, Imogen has been captured by the enemy in order to force the boy-king’s surrender. With the lives of everyone he loves under threat and his world crumbling around him, Jaron is about to learn what it truly means to be the Ascendant King.

Nielsen has done it again! Wow. Just wow. I think The Shadow Throne might just be the best one in this series. The stakes have never been higher, with Carthya under attack from all sides (possibly from within) and all the characters we have come to love facing terrible odds for survival. This is one tension-filled tale that kept me enthralled from the first page to the last.

Jaron breathes from every page—his cheek, his cleverness, his drive…every word left me feeling like Jaron is a real person. Nielsen has not just created a three-dimensional character made of words with Jaron—he is made of blood and bone and spirit. I like to think of Jaron as an iceberg—everything we see of him is only a small percentage of what is going on in that brain of his, what plans he has in store. Even with him narrating, it isn’t until the end that you can really be sure you’ve got him all figured out. And even then, he will always surprise you. As you can tell I’m smidgely (okay, a lot) in love with him.

The sarcastic wit and pleasant surprises loaded into this book had me grinning like a fool. Then all of a sudden there would be a not-so-pleasant surprise and my heart would be breaking. I experienced a rainbow of emotions with this story and was very sorry to see it end. But what a strong end it was to an already strong series!

Loaded with action, twists, double-crosses and a surprising amount of heart, The Shadow Throne is a book not to be missed. I could go on and on about how much I marvel at Nielsen’s writing, plotting and characterization, and how much I love this world she’s created. But all I will say now is read it, love it and read it again. You won’t be disappointed.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (5/5 hearts)

The False PrinceThe Runaway King

2 thoughts on “Review: The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen

  1. I just scanned this review because I still haven’t read The Runaway King but I am so happy to hear it’s a strong finish! I feel like I’ve read so many mediocre endings to trilogies lately.

  2. Pingback: Best Books I Read in 2014 | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

