The Cure for a Book Slump

Too tired to... *snore*

Too tired to… *snore*

Do you ever find yourself in a book slump, a period where you just can’t summon the energy to pick up a book and start reading? I tend to fall into one every January. I’m not sure whether it’s dealing with the craziness of the holidays or the weather or what that makes me so lethargic but I find myself doing anything but reading. A bad habit for a book blogger, for sure.

So what’s the trick for pulling yourself out of the slump? Books!

Even though I wasn’t doing much reading, it didn’t stop me from acquiring some awesome books that helped me through my slump. And while I may be waaay behind on my reviewing, I’d like to share these titles with you (it’s not the books’ fault that I was in a reading funk).

Winter 14 Book Haul

My Winter Book Haul

Here we go…

At the end of December I received a surprise package of books from Scholastic Canada. The only thing better than getting books in the mail, is surprise books in the mail! Inside was:

The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher ‘Dangerous games are played in the dark…’ This one sounds so deliciously creepy!

Zane and the Hurricane: A Story of Katrina by Rodman Philbrick ‘The wind, the wind, the wind. Please stop the wind.’ (Available February 25, 2014)

Defy by Sara B. Larson ‘As I gripped the hilt of the sword, my mind calmed and my body filled with purpose. This is who I was—this was what I knew how to do. I was a fighter.’

A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd ‘Some people collect baseball cards . Or hedgehogs. Or belly-button lint. Not Felicity Pickle. She collects words…’ This book sounds so adorable and right up my alley! (Available February 25, 2014)

Switched at Birthday by Natalie Standiford ‘What if your birthday wish turned you into someone else?’ (Available February 25, 2014)

Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg ‘Can guys and girls ever really be just friends? Or are they one fight away from not speaking again—and one kiss away from true love?’ The YA version of When Harry Met Sally? I’m in! (Available February 25, 2014)

I’ve also picked up these awesome books from Harlequin TEEN:

The Steampunk Chronicles: The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross ‘In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one…except the “thing” inside her.’

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry ‘So wrong for each other…and yet so right.’

The Tudor Witch Trilogy #1: Witchstruck by Victoria Lamb ‘She cannot deny her power…[but] one wrong move could mean her life, and the life of Elizabeth, rightful heir to the English throne.’ Reading this one now and loving it!

GRIM edited by Christine Johnson ‘Prepare to open a treasure box of the unusual and the macabre.’ A collection of fairytale retellings by some of the best young adult authors out there? Heck yes! (Available March 2014)

The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow ‘Some secrets grow too big to keep.’

And from Pajama Press

Cat Champions: Caring for Our Feline Friends by Rob Laidlaw ‘…will inspire readers of all ages to help make the world a better place for felines.’

Nat The Cat Can Sleep Like That by Victoria Allenby and Tara Anderson ‘Who is full of beans now?’

And when I was out and about I picked up Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (HarperCollins)!

***

If you find yourself in a reading slump, I find the best trick is to pick up a book that you know you will like. Maybe it’s a favourite author or a topic that always grabs you. Leave the “have to/need to” reads for the moment and treat yourself to a book you want to read. It will help deal with the procrastination. Another trick is trying short stories to ease you back into the rhythm. A good option is the YA spec. fiction magazine Inaccurate Realities (volume 2 is now available!). Why that works? It doesn’t feel like such a big commitment, kind of like setting yourself the goal of reading a chapter at a time. And finally carry a book/ereader with you wherever you go; chances are you’ll find a moment of downtime when a book is the perfect distraction.

Thanks to the above books adding excitement to my TBR pile, I’ve got my reading groove back! Slump cured.

Happy reading!

~Danielle

Thanks to Scholastic Canada, Harlequin TEEN and Pajama Press!

One thought on “The Cure for a Book Slump

  1. Thanks for the IR shout out! Also I love Girl with the Steel Corset and have been hearing really good things about The Killing Woods. Hope you break out of your slump soon!

Share Your Thoughts

