Top Ten Tuesday: Worlds I Would Never Want To Live In

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

There are many fictional worlds where it would be amazing to live (the Wizarding World, for example), but a lot of the time the worlds that are the most interesting to read about are worlds I would never actually want to live in. Here are the top worlds I would NEVER want to live in:

1. Panem from Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games series: Meagre rations, micro-controlling government and let’s not forget the whole kids being forced to kill kids for the entertainment of wealthy adults deal. I wouldn’t even want to be a part of the secure Capitol.

2. The loveless futuristic America of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series: A world where love of any kind is forbidden would be the saddest world of them all…

3. The divided futuristic Chicago of Veronica Roth’s Divergent series: In the words of Four, “I want to be brave, and selfless, and smart, and kind, and honest.” Having to be one or the other just isn’t right. Or logical.

4. The 16th Century England found in Witchstruck by Victoria Lamb: True, I love the clothing, the history and the language of this time period but no way would I want to actually live in this time of beheadings, witch hunts and the Spanish Inquisition. Plus, can you imagine the smell?! No thanks.

5. The world of James Dashner’s The Maze Runner: I haven’t gotten very far in this series yet, but just reading the first one I already know this is a world I DO NOT want to live in.

6. The plague riddled world of Bethany Griffin’s Masque of the Red Death: I sincerely hope we never experience another plague. This world was very intriguing but also very cringe-inducing.

7. The barren world of Moira Young’s Blood Red Road: I do not think I would last very long in a ruined desert world with sand storms, cage fights to the death and giant venomous worms.

8. The historical world of Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity: A very black mark in humanity’s ledger, I would not want to live in our world during World War II, yet that is the setting for Code Name Verity. This book focuses on Nazi-occupied France.

9. Veelox in Pendragon: The Reality Bug by D. J. MacHale: I sincerely hope our obsession with technology does not lead to humanity preferring to live in a virtual world while our bodies turn to mush and the physical world around us crumbles, as is the case in Veelox.

10. Inside Lord D’Albret’s castle in Robin LaFevers’ Dark Triumph: *Shivers!* That’s all I can say about the thought of living in this dark man’s home. *Shivers!*

What worlds would you not want to live in? Share your answers in comments.

These titles are all available through The Book Depository.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Worlds I Would Never Want To Live In

Share Your Thoughts

