Best Books of 2013

2013 was a bit of a slow book year for me as I spent a lot of my free time this year either job hunting or, once I found a job, reading manuscripts for work then coming home and just having no more energy to read. That said, I did come across some truly remarkable books this year that left an imprint on me long after I finished the last page. These are not necessarily books that were published in 2013, though many of them were. Without further ado…here are my top picks of 2013:

Best of the Best: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Only three books earned a full five hearts from this year, which made choosing my #1 read tricky, but Eleanor & Park‘s ability to make me simultaneously feel love and heartbreak sets it apart. It was just a really, really beautifully told story.

dark triumphThe Runaway KingRequiem by Lauren OliverUnravel Me by Tahereh MafiThe False Prince

#2: Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

A very close second, this book had me completely mesmerized, both at its horrors and its sweetness. It is aptly named as Dark Triumph truly is a darkly written triumph.

#3: The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Neilsen

What a spectacular sequel! I love Sage, not only because he is a fantastically witty and clever anti-hero, but because he always manages to surprise me.

#4: Requiem by Lauren Oliver

The stakes were really high for Lena in this conclusion to the Delirium trilogy and I loved every page. I will never tire of Oliver’s storytelling.

#5: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

From the beautiful cover and Mafi’s beautiful words to the surprising ending and the steamy love scenes, Unravel Me was a very satisfying read. I can’t wait for the conclusion!

#6: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Neilsen

I was surprised by how much I loved this book and its main character, Sage, which just makes me love it even more. Plus it lead to the amazing sequel that claimed my #3 spot.

Virginia WolfSummer Days Starry Nightsborn of illusionchaos of stars

#7: Virginia Wolf by Kyo Maclear; illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

This picture book tackles the tough subject of depression in a lovely way.

#8: Summer Days, Starry Nights by Vikki VanSickle

This book captured my love of summer cottage life so perfectly and left me filled with nostalgia for the simpler yet confusing times of adolescent innocence.

#9: Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Magic shows, mediums, the Jazz Age and mystery set against 1920s New York City… A spectacular combination!

#10: Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

This book appealed to my love of Greek mythology but what really made it memorable for me was the passage about fate and choice. It immediately became one of my favourite love quotes.

I can’t wait to get started on my 2014 TBR pile!

You can check out my favourites from last year here.

One thought on “Best Books of 2013

  1. I still need to read quite a few of these – including Summer Days, Starry Nights and the Runaway King. But the False Prince was excellent! And Eleanor & Park of course.

Share Your Thoughts

