{Review} Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers is a Triumph Indeed!

dark triumph

From Houghton Mifflin Books:

Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

Told from the perspective of Sybella, Dark Triumph, the second installment in Robin LaFevers’ His Fair Assassin series, starts off overlapping with where Grave Mercy ended. The villainous Lord D’Albret is still trying to conquer the young Duchess Anne of Brittany, and Sybella remains in his household under the convent’s orders.

Fans of Grave Mercy  won’t be disappointed with this sequel. You can expect the beautiful, historical writing that was so captivating in the first book, as well as the imaginative and haunting splashes of fantasy that set this book apart from the pack.

It seems weird saying I love this book given how disturbing it often is…but I love it! I love that it shocked me and made me make disgusted faces, and that it plucked my heart strings and had me cheering on the characters as they struggle to triumph over the darkness of their lives. Because it is dark. Very dark.

But that’s what makes it so great. LaFevers doesn’t shy away from being dark; instead she embraces the darkness and turns it into something brilliant.

The characters in this series are incredible and so vivid. I had my doubts about Sybella after meeting her in Grave Mercy, but she quickly earned my devotion. For someone so tragically broken, she is an amazingly strong and resilient heroine.

Then there is D’Albret, the most vile creature I have yet to encounter in a book. He has no heart—of that I am sure—just a black gaping cavity behind his ribs.

And Beast… Oh, how I love Beast! I was intrigued by him in Grave Mercy, but in this one he just makes my heart melt. And I love that he is ugly! I cannot recall a book where the male (human) love interest is unattractive, even to the heroine. I find that so refreshing! Beast has clawed his way into my top list of favourite male leads.

Dark Triumph is disturbing, horrific, beautiful and tender. I devoured every page.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (5/5 hearts)

3 thoughts on “{Review} Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers is a Triumph Indeed!

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2013 | Bookish Notions

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Worlds I Would Never Want To Live In | Bookish Notions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: I’d Want to be Stranded on a Deserted Island with… | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

