Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Would Be Great Movies/TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is books I think would make great movies or TV shows (presuming we lived in a perfect world where the adaptation lived up to imaginations). A little over a year ago I wrote a post on ten books I’d like made into movies (you can find that list here), and several of them are now actually being made into movies. Which means there are now several spots open on my wish list. Here it is:

Books I’d Like Made Into Movies

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellDelirium by Lauren Oliver – This one is/was (I’m honestly not sure anymore) being made into a TV show, but I think it would be a much better movie and then it wouldn’t deviate from the original perfectly-awesome storyline.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – This incredible contemporary love story between two misfits would make a movie that would no doubt be up for awards at film festivals.

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner – I’m reading this sci-fi novel now and so far I think it would be a pretty cool movie. Very Matrix-esque.

The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen – This series would be amazing on film if for no other reason than I really want to see Sage brought to life. He is one smart-aleck thief that has completely stolen my heart.

Looking for Alaska by John Green – With the right director and cast I think this contemporary novel could really be something on film.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – This retelling of Peter Pan with its darker Neverland would be beautiful on the big screen.

Books I’d Like Made Into TV Shows

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare – Yes, this is now a movie (that fell flat for me) but I think it would’ve been better as a TV show with all of the cool supernatural characters and secondary storylines.

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFeversHis Dark Assassins trilogy by Robin Lafevers – This historic fantasy about assassin nuns would make a kick-ass TV show! OMG someone please do it!

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini – Another case of great books, bad movie. I think this complex series with multiple characters would be great for TV. Think Game of Thrones.

The Pendragon series by D.J. MacHale – With ten books, this series has lots of material to keep a show going for a while! Seeing Bobby and the many different worlds of Halla come to life would be incredible! I could see this show happening on a sci-fi channel.

Which books would you love to see come to life on the big or small screen? Share your answers in comments.

These titles are all available from The Book Depository.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Would Be Great Movies/TV Shows

  1. I really like the way you divided the books into TV or movies. I also am a huge fan of E&P and think it would make a fabulous movie. And depending on how The Fault in Our Stars does, I bet Looking for Alaska will be next. I too was disappointed by the Mortal Instruments series, and I feel awful that because it didn’t do too well, it may not be likely that the Infernal Devices will get made.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Would Be Great Movies/TV Shows #3 | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

