And Now Back To Our Regularly Scheduled Program…

Hello, All!

It has been far too long since my last post but I am back from my hiatus and raring to go. I’d love to say that I am all refreshed after my time away, but it has been a pretty crazy month. So this is what I have been up to since my last post:

I’ve settled into my new proofreader job and am really enjoying it. HUZZAH! After doing several internships and struggling to find a job in the ever-shrinking publishing industry, it still feels a bit surreal that I am being PAID to READ!

I am now a Torontonian and my new apartment no longer looks like a tornado swept through—dishes are away, clothes are hung, and my kitty has made himself right at home. The only thing not unpacked are my books *tears!*. Though it is physically painful to have my babies still in boxes, it is a necessary evil since I don’t know where I’ll be in six months and it just didn’t make sense to unpack all seventeen(!) boxes only to repack them in a few months. My one little shelf of unpacked books looks so lonely now…

This is exactly how I felt packing up my books…

What else have I been up to…? I spent some time at my cottage working on my WIP. Writing outside by the bay on a warm summer’s morning has to be my new favourite thing to do. So pleasant! I got a good chunk of revisions done.

And I actually found time to read a couple books this month as well so stay tuned for those reviews.

What does the near future hold for Bookish Notions now that I’m back, you ask? In addition to reviews and my regular features like Popcorn and a Book…

  •  I will be a part of Sue MacLeod’s Namesake blog tour in September.
  • The fall is when festivals and book events are in full swing so I’m going to try to go to as many as possible.
  • I’ll be doing Happy Hallow’Read again in October, complete with giveaways (email/message me if you are a Canadian book-blogger or published author interested in doing a guest post). See here for details from last year.

Ah, it’s good to be back!

Happy reading, all!

~Danielle

Share Your Thoughts

