Recap: Frenzy Presents… The Future of YA

Ok, so I have been blogging for about a year and a half now and throughout that time the green-eyed monster has reared its ugly head on several occasions when I would log onto Twitter or visit a favourite blog and see all the fun happenings at publisher previews. Well last Thursday I finally got my chance to attend such an event. On a beautifully sunny June day, I hopped on a bus and headed into the Big City for HarperCollins Canada’s YA Fall Preview.

frenzypresents

In a charming little clothing boutique called Vocado in Liberty Village twenty or so book bloggers met to mingle and talk books. Vikki greeted me at the door, gave me my name tag (yay for name tags!) and then directed me what to do. Representatives from HCC were spread out around the store, each talking about a different trend in YA. In small groups we went around the room listening to each rep talk about upcoming books. I joined an awesome group that included Michele (Just a Lil Lost), Andrea (Cozy Up with a Good Read), Angel (Mermaid Visions) and Christa (More Than Just Magic)—so nice to meet you guys finally!  This experience was so different from what I was imagining but it was a great set up for mingling and chatting with bloggers and the folks from HCC in an intimate setting. I did find it a bit hard to hear everything that was being said because there was so much going on in a small space, but I liked the relax feel.

So what trends can you expect this fall?

Contemporary (with Kaiti):

how to lovebeginning of everything

How to Love by Katie Cotugno – A love story about a couple who fall in love twice, this novel is said to be perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider – If witty and heart-wrenching stories are right up your alley then The Beginning of Everything is the book for you. It is a story about life-changing moments and the difficulty of trying to be what people expect. I received this book in my grab bag and as soon as I got home I had a friend asking to read it. If the first page is any indication, this is a very smartly written book!

Creeptastic (with Jessica):

3:59asylumbrokenhearted

Creeptastic

Jessica showing off some of the creeptastic pictures in Asylum

3:59 by Gretchen McNeil – When Josie looks in the mirror at exactly 3:59 she is able to talk with her parallel self in a parallel world where everything seems so much more perfect than her own sinking life. So what could be the down side of leaving her life behind and stepping through the mirror? I’ll let you find out.

Asylum by Madeleine Roux – This book sounds like the ultimate creepy read. A boy name Dan has to spend his summer in a prep school that was formerly an asylum for the criminally insane. As Dan and the other boys at the school start to explore they uncover secrets about the asylum that should have been kept buried. Photos from real abandoned asylums add to the creepiness in case you don’t have enough trouble falling asleep already.

The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney – I really want to read this one when it comes out (and normally I shy away from anything creepy!) Described as The Dark Knight with a female hero, The Brokenhearted is about a girl who wakes up after a fatal accident with a bionic heart and decides to become a vigilante, seeking justice for the death of a boy she liked.

New Mythology (with Shannon):

descendantchaos of stars

Shannon is excited about New Mythology!

Shannon is excited about New Mythology!

Descendant by Lesley Livingston – Fans of Starling rejoice! The sequel will be out this fall, continuing the story of Mason with more Norse mythology, more action and more romance.

The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White – Given my love for mythology, I was so excited to get a copy of this beauty in my goodie bag. If you think your family is screwed up, wait til you meet Isadora’s. She is the human daughter of the gods Isis and Osiris. I can’t wait to read this new take on the ancient Egyptian gods!

New Adult with author Cora Carmack:

If the term “New Adult” is new to you, new adult books are books that fall somewhere in the grey area between YA and adult books. The characters are a little older and a little more experienced but still trying to discover who they are/are going to become.

Author Cora Carmack talking about the new adult trend

Author Cora Carmack talking about the new adult trend

New adult author Cora Carmack talked to us about her book Losing It, the story of a university student who decides she is tired of being the only virgin she knows and will lose it with the first guy she comes across. But she freaks out and leaves the guy naked in her bed… only to discover he is her new theatre professor.

Cora was very personable and fun to talk to. I asked her about her journey to publication and her story is pretty impressive. She self-published Losing It but sold it to HarperCollins within a month! The second book, Faking It, just came out this summer and the third book, Finding It, is scheduled for the fall. She’s already at work on her next novel project, along with a number of novellas. Talk about a whirlwind writer!

losing it

Also, we all got a personalized copy of Losing It. Yay!

New Voices (with Suman):

if you could be minenot a drop to drink
Suman shares the newest voice in dystopian YA

Suman shares the newest voice in dystopian YA

Gloss by Marilyn Kaye – New York in the 60s at a fashion magazine. Think The Devil Wears Prada meets Mad Men.

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizen – Beautifully written, this books deals with the sensitive subject of same sex love in Iran and the lengths one will go to to be with their soul mate. Just describing this book had Suman tearing up—that’s how powerful it is.

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – This book is definitely on my radar! A dystopian novel about a severe water shortage and cholera epidemic. Apparently if you ever had to survive the wild in a destroyed world, you would want this hero on your side—she has mad survival skills.

After moving around to each of the “stations” I chatted a bit and had some refreshments. Then I headed out, but not before taking a grab bag with me. Along with arcs of some of the above books, inside it were fortune cookies, a Vocado coupon, and lip gloss.

All in all, I had a great time and can’t wait to sink into the awesome books coming out this fall. Thanks HCC!

These books are also available through The Book Depository

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Recap: Frenzy Presents… The Future of YA

  1. Pingback: Bookish Notions Turns 2! | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s