Top Ten Tuesday: Best Covers of Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I am the first to admit that I judge books by their covers so this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is right up my alley. Unless a book has been recommended to me or I am already familiar with an author, the cover is what convinces me to at least pick up the book and read the cover copy—sometimes the cover is even enough to make me buy it. A great cover is very important! (And a great title.) Here are some of my favourite covers from books I’ve read.

Shatter Me by Tahereh MafiInkspell by Cornelia FunkeArtemis Fowl 1Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: I am SO unbelievably thrilled that this book’s cover got a makeover! I read the one with the been-there-done-that girl-in-white-dress cover (see below). Except for the font of the title, that cover was so tired. But I love the new one with the inky eye with gnarled trees for lashes! I like eyes on covers in general, but this one is just so (please excuse the pun…) eye-catching. Love, love, love!

The original cover...meh.

The original cover…meh.

2. Inkspell by Cornelia Funke: I love the mix of blues and silver with leaves circling the bright yellow image of a castle. Gorgeous! Plus it is a book whose cover is made to look like an old book–a detail to which I seem to be partial (see #2).

3. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer: This glittery gold cover totally caught Young Me’s eye. It is another case of a book made to look like a book (I actually found quite a few on my shelves) and I adore the fact that it is meant to look like the book Artemis steals from the Faerie folk.

4. Tiger Lily by Jodi-Lynn Anderson: The burst of orange on a dark background and spindly white font make this cover gorgeous!

5. Fell by David Clement-Davies: Another book with eyes! This cover oozes darkness and intrigue thanks to the beautiful combination of black, blues and shots of silver.

FellAbove by Leah Bobet

6. Above by Leah Bobet: The cover is definitely what attracted me to this book. The sepia tones with lots of shadows and light are so gorgeous! And then of course there is the Toronto skyline, something I don’t often see on novels (in fact I think this is the only one I’ve seen).

7. Grave Mercy by Robin Lafevers: The cover image is great with the regal looking girl with a crossbow, but what really grabbed me was the tagline: Why be the sheep when you can be the wolf?

8. Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu: Bright and whimsical, yet sinister, this cover is wonderful! I love the use of light, the snowflakes and the ghostly silhouettes of the wolves.

9. Looking for Alaska by John Green: The simple contrast of the smoke against the black background makes this a stunning and memorable cover.

10. Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz: Venice! I love Venetian masks and I am dying to go to Venice so this cover was just begging me to pick up this installment in the Blue Bloods series.

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFeversBreadcrumbsLooking for AlaskaMasquerade

Which book covers do you just adore? Share your answers in comments.

These titles are all available from The Book Depository.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Covers of Books I’ve Read

  1. I haven’t read Shatter Me yet (I know, I know…)but I do prefer the updated covers. I also need to get to Grave Mercy…I own it, so really, what is my excuse?

Share Your Thoughts

