Giveaway and Review: Root Bound by Tanya Karen Gough

GIVEAWAY:

Root BoundHow far will you go to find your way home?

Emma and her father, a jazz musician, are always on the move, travelling from place to place as her father’s work demands. Their new home, however, is different. There’s a frightening woman who lives down the hall: she bears an uncanny resemblance to a witch. A mysterious light comes from her apartment,  a small boy seems to be trapped inside, and basement brownies in the vest.

Haunted by visions of her mother, Emma travels through the brownie burrow to the valley of Hades to visit with the goddess Ceres, following a series of clues that lead her across the sea of memory to the centre of the world.

There, on an inhospitable rock floating in a sea of steaming lava, Emma must find a way to free the prince, release her mother from the sea of memory, and restore magic to both the brownie burrow and the human world above.

Want to win a copy of Root Bound by Tanya Karen Gough (Baba Yaga Press)? Just click ‘ENTER NOW’ and fill out the Rafflecopter form for your chance to win!

Official Rules:

  • Entrants must have a Canadian mailing address.
  • Contest closes June 30th at 11:59pm EST.
  • Winner will be notified by email and must respond within 48 hours or another winner will be chosen.

ENTER NOW

REVIEW:

I was attracted to Root Bound by Tanya Karen Gough (Baba Yaga Press) because of all of the mythological elements. I mean Ceres, Hades and brownies? I could not pass that up. The supernatural and mythological threads of this story are definitely what kept me reading Root Bound, but they weren’t enough to fully hold my attention.

I had read a lot of really great reviews for Root Bound prior to picking it up—so perhaps I just wasn’t in the right mood for it—but I found my attention drifting. I found the repetitive use of noise words like ‘BANG’ and ‘CRASH’ (and the overuse of CAPS) to be a bit trite.

However, all of that does not apply to the brownies. I loved the brownies! If some basement brownies want to move into my house, I have a vacancy. These little furry guys are rude, ignorant, and totally and completely adorable.

♥ ♥ (2/5 hearts) … But the brownies get 4/5 for sheer lovability.

This book was generously provided by the author in exchange for my honest review.

Share Your Thoughts

