Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Books I Liked More Than I Thought I Would

Divergent by Veronica RothLooking for AlaskaEnder's GameBetween the Lines by Jodi PicoultWhy We Broke Up

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth: I loved this series but was very skeptical about reading it. I had just finished reading The Hunger Games and thought it sounded too similar, but boy was I wrong about it!

2. Looking for Alaska by John Green: This was my first John Green book and I really had no idea what to expect. I had heard him compared to J.D. Salinger and truth be told I really couldn’t get through Catcher in the Rye when I was in school, but I loved John Green from his Vlogbrothers videos. So I gave it a try and just fell in love with his writing—it’s so smart.

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card: This was assigned for a lit class and I read the back and thought “Aliens? Really?” But this book is fantastic! Really interesting storyline! I fully intend to read the rest of the Ender books (as soon as possible).

4. Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer: This was another case of my unnecessary skepticism. The story was delightful (and the illustrations were beautiful).

5. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler: This book surprised me in the best ways possible. I loved the writing, the illustrations and the voice of Min.

Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would

Marked by PC CastBreaking DawnAn Abundance of KatherinesEndymion SpringMockingjay

1. The House of Night Series by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast: I found the first book a bit shockingly sexual, but I got into the storyline and tried reading a few more. As the series progressed I got more and more frustrated with the writing and editing of this series and eventually just stopped reading.

2. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer: I did enjoy reading this installment in the Twilight series; however, I didn’t enjoy it as much the others. It had quite a different feel to it.

3. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: I only include this one on this list because I didn’t care as much about the characters as in his other books. So for me, this one is not as great a John Green book as his others, but still pretty great as far as books go.

4. Endymion Spring by Matthew Skelton: I was told this book was the next Harry Potter so my expectations going in were way to high. It was a very enjoyable read and I love the way it blends with the history of books—it just wasn’t the next Harry Potter like I was promised.

5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins: I loved the first two Hunger Games books but found this last one to be a bit of a let-down.

Which books did you like less/more than you thought you would? Share your answers in comments.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Looking for Alaska was soooo good! I agree about Breaking Dawn and Mockingjay, kinda let downs, didn’t live up to the rest of the books. I still haven’t read An Abundance of Katherines, but it was his first book right? So maybe that could be part of it. 🙂

    My Top Ten

  2. While there are many books that have been recommended to me and I was let down with, here are my top five:
    – “The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel” by Michael Scott. This is a series in teen that really disappointed me. I actually couldn’t even finish the first book because I couldn’t relate to anything in the book. Understandably it is science fiction, I still expect to relate to some aspect.
    – “Shadow of Night” by Deborah Harkness. This book was extremely long and the plot did not thicken until 300 pages in. I felt like I was reading a textbook instead of a work of fiction because the character merely informed what things were instead of letting me experience it through her.
    – “Wicked” by Gregory Maguire. If you like the play, don’t spoil it by reading the book! Yes, I give the author credit for his imagination and inspiring the brilliant musical but I was completely uncomfortable with this novel.
    – “The Casual Vacancy” by J.K. Rowling. Don’t get me wrong, in the end, I loved this book. However, it took me over 200 pages to become invested and that made it extremely difficult to recommend this title to anyone else. Within the first couple chapters, I was introduced to over 20 characters and that made it difficult to keep track of the story-lines. Like I said though, once reaching the middle, I couldn’t put the book down.
    – “Mrs. Dalloway” by Virginia Woolf. OK so it’s a classic… maybe for the rare usage of stream-of-consciousness that Woolf utilizes but it’s boring! With no chapters and constant stream-of-consciousness, I always felt exhausted while reading. The only reason I finished this novel was because I had to do a presentation on it!

Share Your Thoughts

