Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books I Read Before I Was a Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

As far as blogs go, mine is still pretty much a baby—it’s only one and a half. So my blog is very much like an iceberg in that it only shows off about 10% of the books I’ve read. Of the hidden 90%, these are my top ten favourite reads (pre-blog):

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone LOTR The Return of the KingPendragon 6: The Rivers of ZadaaThe Wish List

1. The Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling: Boy wizard. Evil Dark Lord. You know the drill. These books all equal one giant, fantabulous book in my mind and I couldn’t possibly pick a favourite one so I group them together for the purposes of this list.

2. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: An unlikely hero sets out with a band consisting of hobbits, men, a dwarf, an elf, and a wizard, to destroy the ring of power and save all of Middle Earth from the evil Sauron. Of the three volumes, The Return of the King is my favourite.

3. The Pendragon series by D.J. MacHale: Ten territories are on the brink of falling into chaos at the hands of the evil Saint Dane. It’s up to Bobby Pendragon to stop this from happening, thereby saving everything that ever was and will be. I love this series SO MUCH! But if I had to pick a favourite, it would be #6 The Rivers of Zadaa because there is a plot twist in this one that totally blew my mind and changed my understanding of the previous books.

4. The Wish List by Eoin Colfer: A girl dies while stealing and ends up in limbo because her good deeds balanced her bad deeds while she was alive. To get into Heaven she must help a cantankerous old man fulfill his bucket-list. Colfer’s unbeatable humour with lots of heart make this read a favourite I wish more people knew about.

Ender's GameAnne of Green GablesInkheart

5. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card: A boy prodigy must train to fight against an alien invasion. I was assigned this to read in high school and really didn’t think I would like it. I was pleasantly surprised. It’s much more about the psychology of warfare and the stress it puts on young Ender than about aliens and I loved it.

6. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery: A elderly brother and sister in PEI in the early 1900s want to adopt an orphan boy but get a red-headed girl named Anne instead. I started reading this series while vacationing in PEI and just fell in so love with the province and the fiery-tempered, imaginative Anne Shirley.

7. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke: A girl and her father have the ability to read characters out of books. It is a beautiful book about books!

Martin the WarriorThe SightLightning Thief

8. Martin the Warrior by Brian Jacques: One of many tales about the history of Redwall Abbey, a legendary place inhabited by anthropomorphic mice and other woodland creatures. This one is about the history of the Abbey’s founder and how he came to Mossflower country. I was a huge Redwall fan and have read every single one, but this one is a favourite.

9. The Sight by David Clement-Davies: A story about a wolf pack in the Carpathian mountains. One of the wolves has the ability to see the future. I really enjoy looking at the world through the eyes of animals and Clement-Davies does an incredible job of giving the animals their own myths.

10. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordin: A boy named Percy Jackson finds out that he is actually a demi-god and the son of Poseidon. Along with his demi-god friends, he has to help save Olympus. If you love Greek mythology, you will love this book and the rest in the series.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books I Read Before I Was a Blogger

Share Your Thoughts

