Requiem: Saying Goodbye to the World of Delirium

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

From Harper:

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure:

We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

***SPOILER ALERT! The following review contains spoilers for Delirium and Pandemonium. Read at your own risk.***

When we last left Lena, she was neck deep in the Resistance, fighting for the right to love. She managed to rescue Julian from the cure and the pair were learning to love (or in Lena’s case, learning to love again). But then Alex—glorious Alex!—shows up, scarred and deeply changed. In Requiem, the final installment in Lauren Oliver’s heart-pounding dystopian trilogy, Lena is struggling with her feelings for her new love and the man she never stopped loving, all the while fighting to survive in the Wilds with Raven and their motley band of resisters.

Requiem is told through the alternating perspectives of Lena and Hana. Given that the other books were told in Lena’s voice, I was all prepared to jut out my bottom lip and pout when I saw that I was getting less of Lena’s story. I was wrong to judge so quickly. Hana’s voice offers an interesting perspective on the cure and how it changes emotions. She also has some very shocking revelations that I did not see coming. Lena’s chapters are raw and gritty. She shows us more of the Wilds, the Invalids, and both sides of love’s sharp razor: the good and the bad. As the end gets closer and closer, and Lena and Hana’s stories begin to merge, the suspense will have your ears humming with the sound of your racing heart. It is no easy feat to walk away from this book.

Oliver’s writing is once again spot on. She is a master of selective words. A few words, one carefully crafted sentence, and your heart is either flying or breaking. She tells a beautiful story.

My one complaint about this book, and it is a small one, is simply that I wanted more Alex. I fell in love with him in Delirium, and then spent all of Pandemonium mourning for him only to find out that he was miraculously alive (thank you Lauren Oliver!); I just wanted more.

Well folks, we have come to the end, but in many ways it feels like the beginning. Requiem ends powerfully, epically, streaked through with sadness and bursting with unquenchable hope. I have nothing but love for this series about a world fighting over love, and I am sorry to say goodbye to it.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (4.5/5 hearts)

Also be sure to check out my reviews of Delirium and Pandemonium.

4 thoughts on “Requiem: Saying Goodbye to the World of Delirium

  1. GLORIOUS ALEX is right. Alex forever and ever – AMEN. You and i are totally eye-to-eye, heart-to-heart with this one, Dani. I loved it, I just wanted (no, NEEDED) more Alex. Anything at all. Did you read his short story? It’s my absolute FAVOURITE.

    Julian even grew on me in this book (when he was away from Lena. Far away.)

    And I ended up loving Hana’s POV – it really added great depth and perspective.

    Brenna from Esther’s Ever After

    • Yes, I definitely NEEDED more Alex, too! I’m holding off reading the Alex short until I have the Delirium short stories (which is on order–Yeah!) and then I’m going to read them all together. I like Julian too, but as much as I like him Lena belongs with Alex in my mind. I wish nothing but good things for him though–maybe he can go for a certain other female that was late to join Raven’s crew, if you know who I mean 😉

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels | Bookish Notions

  3. Pingback: Best Books of 2013 | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

