Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Memories

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I am lucky enough to have quite a number of favourite bookish memories, so narrowing them down to ten for this week’s list was a struggle. After quite the battle with myself, the dust has settled and these are the ten bookish memories that stand out above the rest:

1. Meeting D.J. MacHale at Book Expo Canada 2006: First of all, not only was I at Book Expo, where the sheer magnitude of the event blew my mind, but I got my copy of Pendragon: The Quillan Games signed AND got to chat with one of my favourite authors. This was the first time I had met an author whose books I absolutely love. This memory is very dear to my heart.

2. The Midnight Release of Breaking Dawn: I was working at Chapters for this release and got to help organize the event. A week before the release we stayed after hours and painted the store windows with the book covers. The release party was a blast and the excitement was intoxicating. The theme was masquerade so everyone was in fancy dresses. One person even wore a wolf costume! I wore this amazing purple dress which I made for the occasion and there were games and punch. When midnight hit, it was absolute chaos but my fellow cashiers and I defied the laws of time and had everyone through the cash line and with their copy within 20 minutes. It was a whirlwind of a night, but a great memory indeed!

Breaking Dawn Release

Snapshots from the Breaking Dawn Midnight Release at Chapters, Guelph. 2008

3. Shaking Hands with John Lithgow: This is definitely one of my squeal-worthy moments. I was interning at HarperCollins and the one and only John Lithgow was in the office to do press for his autobiography. Long story short, I was asked to take him a cranberry juice and he opened the conference room door. Talk about being star-struck! I reeled in my compulsion to gush and instead asked to shake his hand. He was so nice and I still can’t believe I shook hands with the John Lithgow!

4. Accepting an Internship while at Word on the Street: Last year while at Word on the Street in Toronto I told the folks at Fitzhenry & Whiteside that I would love to intern with them (I had already done an interview—this wasn’t like some random proclamation, in case you’re wondering) and Christie was so excited that she knocked over a book display. It was a very feel-good moment.

5. The Hunger Games Book Club Event: For my March book club last year, I organized a Hunger Games event around the same time as the movie release. It was a great turn out and we had an awesome archery contest with amazing prizes.

6. Ontario Blogger Meet-Up 2012: My first blogger event was an incredible experience. I met so many wonderful bloggers and authors, and took home a bag full of books.

7. Meeting Oliver Jeffers:  He is such an entertaining speaker and an amazing author/artist. Getting to meet Oliver Jeffers was so cool.

8. Crying over The Fault in Our Stars: My boyfriend came home just as I was finishing this book and I was a sobbing wreck of tears. I’m pretty sure I gave him quite a fright. It might not sound like it, but crying over a book is a wonderfully cathartic experience, and the books that make me cry like that are definitely not forgotten.

9. My Grade 7 English Class: My teacher in grade 7 would set aside a block of time and read us the first few chapters of a book she was excited about. She’s the one who introduced me to Harry Potter, Lemony Snicket, Kenneth Oppel… I owe her a lot.

10. Getting My First Batch of Books in the Mail for Being a Blogger: I LOVE getting mail. But getting a box of books for free because someone liked my reviews? That was a happy day indeed.

I hope you enjoyed traveling down memory lane with me. What are some of your favourite bookish memories? Share them in comments.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Memories

  1. Wow that Breaking Dawn event sounds like it was a lot of fun. Such a pretty dress. What a great idea for your teacher to read a bit from all those books. I wish my teacher would have done that.

  2. I really blog likewise and I’m posting a little something similar to this blog,
    “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Memories Bookish Notions”.
    Will you care in case I actuallyincorporate a bit of of your ideas?
    Thanks -Autumn

    • The topic of a top ten list about bookish memories comes from the site brokeandbookish.blogspot.com so you should talk to them if it’s the topic you are looking to use. If you are looking to incorporate my actual content, I won’t give permission for you to use it, at least not without knowing more about what exactly you are wanting to use. You can contact me for further details at readwithdani@gmail.com

Share Your Thoughts

