How to Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers: A Review

“Once there was a boy and the boy loved stars very much…”

How to Catch a Star by Oliver JeffersIt seems appropriate to start off my week of Oliver Jeffers reviews with a review of his first picture book: How to Catch a Star (HarperCollins). Even though this was his first book, I hadn’t read it until this past weekend. I have no excuse why. I just hadn’t. Clearly I did not know what I was missing.

How to Catch a Star tells the story of a little boy who sets out to catch a star to have one as his friend. I can’t help but smile when I read this book. It is absolutely beautiful. There is a childlike innocence to this book, in both the words and the pictures, and yet it is smartly written and the colourful watercolour illustrations are stunning. That is the genius of Oliver Jeffers. Plus, I LOVE that he never forgets about shadows in his artwork! It’s a simple detail, but it’s a detail that for me sets his work above others.

This book shines as brightly as the stars the boy loves so much. Give it a read and fall in love with the brilliance of Oliver Jeffers.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (5/5 hearts)

Check out my recap from getting to meet Oliver Jeffers here.

Share Your Thoughts

