Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is the books you wouldn’t Santa bringing. Since Santa is magic, I thought I would take this opportunity to make a dream list of books. A few are books I could go out and buy myself, although it would make my budget mad if I did. Some are books that are really rare or hard to find. And some are books that aren’t even out yet, but I’m dying to read. So, Santa, are you listening? Here are the books on my Christmas list (You might have to send the elves on quite the treasure hunt for a few of these):

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien in Latin – I saw this in a store the other day and almost squealed with glee. It would take me forever to read in Latin, but it would be my Everest. Someday, way down the line, it would be so cool to shrug and say “Yep, I’ve The Hobbit… in Latin!”

2. Advance copy of Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi – This book is being kept tightly under wraps, but should it appear under my tree on Christmas morning, well that would just be a welcome Christmas miracle.

3. Round Trip by Ann Jonas – This is a favourite from my childhood. It would be lovely to read it again.

4. Hardcover editions of the Harry Potter books with the adult covers – So what if I already have these books? I like the adult covers too and want to add them to my collection.

5. Hardcover of Redwall by Brian Jacques – There are actually a number of the Redwall books that I have yet to get in hardcover, but this one stands out. Sadly, they are all sold out of hardcovers whenever I want to order them.

6. The Selected Journals of Lucy Maud Montgomery, Vol. I-V – Montgomery is one of my favourite writers and her journals read a lot like her books. It is a pleasure to step back in time and read about her life.

7. First edition of Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery – A first edition of this book would be… mind-blowing. I bet these cost a fortune. Maybe Santa’s elves could work some magic.

8. Advance copy of Requiem by Lauren Oliver – I need to know what happens!

9. A hardcover edition of Grandma and the Pirates by Phoebe Gilman – This one is such a cute story. I would love to add it to my slowly growing library of picture books.

10. First edition of Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie – If you’ve read my blog before, you know that Peter Pan is one of my all-time favourite children’s classics. Can you imagine a first edition!? See #7.

Which books make your Christmas wish list? Share your answers in comments.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing

  1. I’d love to read Montgomery’s journals, she’s a favorite of mine too. Fingers crossed that Santa comes through for you! ;]

Share Your Thoughts

