Meeting Werner Zimmermann

After I woke up this morning, I was flipping through Facebook and saw a post saying author/illustrator Werner Zimmermann was going to be at my local Chapters. What a delightful surprise! Needless to say, I grabbed my copy of A Porcupine in a Pine Tree and headed off to Chapters.

Me with Werner Zimmermann

Mr. Zimmermann had quite the swarm of people around his signing table—both young and old alike. There was a beautiful display of his books on the table, which I flipped through while waiting my turn in line. When I got to the front, Werner signed my book (which the author, Helaine Becker, had signed for me at the Eden Mills Writers’ Festival). What a nice man! He was very willing to chat and asked me about my interest in children’s books and publishing. We laughed about how he made the Leaf’s hands never touching the Stanley Cup (apparently it was his students who ultimately decided that detail). Then he signed a poster for me and some cute little ornaments with the characters from A Porcupine on them.

Then it was home again, now loaded up with my signed copy, some swag, and a big smile on my face.

You can visit Werner Zimmermann online at http://wernerzimmermann.ca/

One thought on “Meeting Werner Zimmermann

  1. Pingback: Christmas Giveaway: A Porcupine in a Pine Tree Signed Swag « Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

