{Guest Post} The Book That Still Haunts Me…

Today I welcome book-blogger Jen from Lost in the Library:

I am a wimp when it comes to scary things. I don’t watch scary movies, or television shows… and I even close my eyes and cover my ears when previews for scary things are on TV. Images stay with me… forever! I have always been this way. I will probably always be this way. So I don’t know what possessed me as a teen to pick up The Tommyknockers by Stephen King. Probably even writing this post will be sufficient to give me nightmares.

I was at home and the book was on the shelf… I’d never read Stephen King so I thought I’d give it a try. I was not aware of the big mistake I was making. I couldn’t read it at night, only during the day and even then the lights had to be on. I know what you are thinking—“Why didn’t you just stop reading?” But it’s not as easy as that. How do you put a book down not knowing what happens? Not knowing if everyone is going to be ok? I kept reading…

“Late last night and the night before

Tommyknockers, tommyknockers knocking at my door

Wanna go out, don’t know if I can

‘Cause I’m so afraid of the tommyknocker man”

This chant got stuck in my head. So creepy and it’s all I could think about. I also didn’t know at the time that things don’t always turn out well in Stephen King books or I probably would’ve stopped reading.

Now anytime I feel spooked or scared that stupid chant pops in my head (and it’s been 16 years since I read it!)

Has that ever happened to you? A scary book has stayed with you?

***

Jen is a librarian at heart and a kidlit lover to her core. You can find Jen online at: www.lostinthelibrary.com  www.storytimewithjen.com

Twitter: @librarygalreads

This post is part of the month long feature Happy Hallow’Read! Don’t forget to check out more Happy Hallow’Read posts and the spectacularly spooky giveaways! (Details here.)

2 thoughts on “{Guest Post} The Book That Still Haunts Me…

Share Your Thoughts

