Saying Goodbye to Artemis Fowl

Well, eleven years and eight books later the Artemis Fowl series has come to an end. Eoin Colfer’s saga about a teenage criminal mastermind and his fairy frenemies is one of my favourite series and I am happy to report that it held strong right to the very end.

In the final installment of the Fowl series, Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian (Hyperion), Opal Koboi, the evil pixie genius, is back and causing more trouble than ever as she plots global domination. With Haven in ruin, it is up to Artemis, Butler and Captain Holly Short to save the day (and all of humanity) from Koboi and an army of ghost warriors before sunrise.

The full-throttle action and surprising twists will keep you on the edge of your LEPrecon-shuttle seats from the first chapter until the very last page. And in true Colfer fashion the laughs just keep on coming. Eoin Colfer is without a doubt the funniest writer gracing my shelves. Mulch Diggums. Enough said. Artemis Fowl fans will not be disappointed by this conclusion to the series! I flew through this book and as soon as I finished, I wanted to go back and read the whole series over again.

Artemis has definitely grown throughout the series. He’s still as pompous and physically awkward as ever (admit it, that’s why we love him), but his time with Butler and Holly has taught him quite a bit about friendship and humanity. I really enjoyed watching Artemis evolve.

Given how tightly packed this storyline is, it’s difficult to go into much detail without this review being flooded with spoilers, so I will just say this: No matter how well you think you know Artemis, he will always manage to surprise you.

It is very bittersweet to say goodbye to a story that has held my interest and imagination for the past eleven years. (Maybe if I cross my fingers and scrinch up my eyes just right, someone will FINALLY make it a movie… Hey, a girl can hope.) But I have no doubts I will be visiting that world again soon. It’s just too fantastic not to.

À bientôt Artemis Fowl! It’s been a hell of an adventure.

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Artemis Fowl

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Memorable Secondary Characters | Bookish Notions

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Dynamic Duos | Bookish Notions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: I’d Want to be Stranded on a Deserted Island with… | Bookish Notions

Share Your Thoughts

