Top Ten Tuesday Rewind

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post subject had a lot more freedom than usual. We were asked to pick any topic from the meme’s past (and there were quite a few to choose from!). So for this week’s Top Ten post, my subject of choice is: My Top Ten Childhood Favourites!

1. Round Trip by Ann Jonas: This is one of my absolute favourites! And I cringe at the thought that very few people have heard of it. It tells the story of a child’s trip into the city with his father and when they get there, you flip the book over and read it back to the beginning (end?). All of the pictures become different pictures when looked at upside down. Day becomes night. Windows become stars. It is visually amazing and still blows my mind. Go check out a copy right now!

2. Mr. Pine’s Purple House by Leonard P. Kessler: I remember my grandma reading me this when I was little. Mr. Pine lives on a street made up of white houses, so to stand out he paints his house purple. But then so does everyone else. So he paints his house a different colour. And so on and so on. Another favourite was Mr. Pine’s Mixed-up Signs.

3. Jonathan Cleaned Up – Then He Heard A Sound, or The Blackberry Subway Jam by Robert Munsch: I could make this whole list just my favourite Munsch books but this one is the cream of the crop. I like picking this one because for some reason it always gets overlooked. But not today! As soon as Jonathan gets his house clean, a train comes barreling through and messes it all up again. He spends the rest of the book trying to find out why this happens.

4. The Mr. Man and Little Miss books by Roger Hargreaves: There is so much goodness in these tiny little books!

5. Norbert Nipkin by Robert McConnell; illustrated by Steve Pilcher: This book reminds me of being in elementary school and sitting in the library while the librarian read to us. I don’t even remember exactly what happens in the story but I can picture her holding the book up. For some reason the title and cover has always stuck in my mind. I must now go find a copy and rediscover its delights. Excuse me. *Wanders off to the library*

6. I Wish That I Had Duck Feet By Theo. LeSieg (aka Dr. Seuss); illustrated by B. Tobey: Another bedtime favourite with grandma. This is a story about a boy who keeps wishing for different animal parts, thinking they will make him super talented and interesting. But when he gets his wish things don’t go as he hoped…

7. The Jolly Postman, Or Other People’s Letters by Janet & Allan Ahlberg: Love it! A fairy tale character is having a birthday party and as the mailman travels to each of the party guests, you get to read their mail.

8. The Little Critter books by Mercer Mayer: These books were all over the house when I was growing up. Did anyone else always try to find the spider, mouse and grasshopper that always made it into the illustrations?

9. One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss: Try saying that title five times fast.

10. For my last book in the list I have a challenge for you. There was a book I used to read that I believe was called When I Grow Up (I could be wrong) but I cannot for the life of me remember the exact title, let alone the author. It was about a young girl who ponders what she will be when she grows up. It goes through a nurse, a cowgirl, a ballerina etc. Very simple, older-looking illustrations. Yellow cover. If I remember correctly, part of it read “When I grow up, what will I be? We’ll see.” Do you know this book? What is it?

Share Your Thoughts

