Top Ten Favourite Bookish Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is about favourite quotes.

I absolutely LOVE scribbling down quotes from the books I read. I even have a book of some of my favourites sitting beside my bed solely for that purpose. Needless to say I have way more than ten favourite quotes, so today I have decided to be very meta and share some of my favourite quotes from books about books (or stories).

  1. “I spent my life folded between the pages of books.
    In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.” ~Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me
  2. “Tragedies are stories that usually begin fairly happily and then steadily go downhill, unitl all of the characters are dead, wounded, or otherwise inconvenienced.” ~Lemony Snicket, The Carnivorous Carnival
  3. “‘Would you like to hear my story, Bella? It doesn’t have a happy ending—but which of ours does? If we had happy endings, we’d all be under gravestones now.'” ~Stephenie Meyer, Eclipse
  4. “A reader dosen’t really see the characters in a story; he feels them.”  ~Cornelia Funke, Inkdeath
  5. “As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” ~John Green, The Fault in Our Stars
  6. “I don’t know who might read this someday. Maybe nobody. But if you come across my story, please know that what happened to me, to us, was a beautiful thing.” ~D. J. MacHale, Soldiers of Halla
  7. “After all, that was what you wanted from books: great emotions you’d never felt yourself, pain you could leave behind by closing the book if it got too bad. Death and destruction felt deliciously real conjured up with the right words, and you could leave them behind between the pages as you pleased, at no cost or risk to yourself.” ~Cornelia Funke, Inkdeath
  8. “Stories are like children. They grow in their own way.” ~Madeleine L’Engle, A Swiftly Tilting Planet
  9. “My Dear Lucy,  I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand, a word you say, but I shall still be your affectionate Godfather,  C.S. Lewis” ~C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe dedication
  10. “They get it wrong in the other Tales. People don’t fight for heroes: They fight for the monsters. For fear of the monsters in the dark.” ~Leah Bobet, Above
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Bookish Quotes

Share Your Thoughts

