{blog tour} Q & A with Amy from Hemlock

It’s week two of the blog tour for Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock and I was fortunate enough to snag a spot on the tour! What is Hemlock, you ask? Well…

Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered. Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer: A white werewolf.

Sounds pretty cool, right? Werewolves, murder, dream ghosts… Given the dark and supernatural elements of Kathleen’s book, I thought it would be interesting to speak with Amy Walsh. Amy is the best friend of Mac, the protagonist. She also happens to be a murder victim whose specter visits Mac’s dreams throughout the novel. Lucky for us, Amy’s ghost* was willing to visit my blog and answer some questions about her life in Hemlock and the friends she left behind.

Bookish Notions: Welcome Amy!

Amy: Thanks so much for having me!

BN: You had a very different childhood than your best friend Mac. What was it like for you growing up in Hemlock?

A: Mac and her childhood trauma. For someone who wants to forget the past, she spends a lot of time thinking about it. I mean, I get it, but maybe things would have turned out differently if she spent more time in the now.

My childhood? Normal, I guess. There was a lot of pressure to live up to my family name. Perfect daughter. Perfect grades. Perfect boyfriend. Perfect cage.

BN: In Hemlock, Mac says her generation remembers exactly what they were doing when the government announced the existence of werewolves, much like their grandparents remember the JFK assassination. What were you doing when the werewolf announcement was made?

A: I was on a play date with Jason. He was decapitating my Barbie collection, and I was crying hysterically. His Nanny had told him about the French Revolution a few days before and how they chopped off your head if you asked for cake.

I ran downstairs to get my mom and she and Jason’s mother were both staring at the TV.

BN: What was it about Mac, the new girl in town, that made you want to be friends? And how has that friendship affected you?

A: She didn’t know me.  She didn’t have any preconceived notions of who I was or what I should be. Everyone else did. And she was different. She had this whole life that was about as far from mine as you could get.

I think my friendship with Mac made me want to be a better person. She was always so good and so loyal—the kind of person I wished I could be. Whenever I tried to be good, though, it always seemed to backfire.

BN: What do you believe the future holds for the friends you left behind?

A: I have no idea. That’s part of why I’ve been hanging around. It’s the show of the decade and I have a front row seat.

BN: If you could have one more day with your friends and/or family, how would you spend that day?

A: There’s someone I owe an apology to. I’d like to think I’d be brave enough to make it and that he cared enough about me to forgive me.

Guess I’ll never know, though. There aren’t any second chances. Not when you’re dead.

BN: Thank you for stopping by Amy!

*Author’s Note: The Amy who appears in the book is a bit different than the friend Mac knew in life. She likes to talk in riddles and is sometimes cruel.  She often acts as a mirror, reflecting thoughts Mac tries to bury or things she doesn’t like about herself. It’s not that she’s incapable of caring—there are times when it’s clear she still loves Mac—but death has changed her (or at least the image of her which Mac’s mind projects). For the interview, I’ve answered as the Amy readers will encounter.

Check out my review of Hemlock here!

About Kathleen:

Kathleen spent most of her teen years writing short stories. She put her writing dreams on hold while attending college but rediscovered them when office life started leaving her with an allergy to cubicles.

Hemlock, her first novel, will be released on May 8th by Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins

You can find Kathleen online on Goodreads, on Twitter @kathleenpeacock or by visiting her website: www.kathleenpeacock.com .

You can preorder your copy of Hemlock from The Book Depository.

Visit The Savvy Reader to find out where else the Hemlock Blog Tour is stopping.

A special thank-you to Kathleen Peacock for taking the time to be interviewed and to HarperCollins Canada for providing me with an ARC and a spot on the tour!

Share Your Thoughts

