Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. In honour of Valentine’s Day or, perhaps more appropriately, to mock Valentine’s Day, this Tuesday’s theme is the top ten books that broke your heart a little. These are books I remember crying over, books that made my heart ache. So, in order of the most tears spilt, here they are (I hope you have your tissues ready):

The Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling: Specifically The Order of the Phoenix, The Half-Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows. I understand why these characters were killed off from a writerly perspective but that didn’t make their deaths any less heart-breaking. ***I’m going to include a SPOILER ALERT here but, come on, if you haven’t read these or seen the movies by now, I really don’t think my spoiling it will be the end of your world.*** Sirius was one of my favourite secondary characters and Harry’s life would have completely turned around if Sirius survived. Dumbledore’s passing had me sniveling for the remainder of HBP. And perhaps the most heartbreaking of all, how could she split up Fred and George?! That was one death too many in my opinion.

The Host by Stephenie Meyer: Ok, technically this is not a YA book but I still don’t understand why it is classified as an “adult” book so I included it in my list. Why? Because I cried for like the last hundred pages of this novel. It might have had something to do with the fact that I kept reading until 3a.m., but really I was just very absorbed in the characters and the high-running emotions.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: The Sisterhood girls were always very relatable to me so when they were hurt so was I. First loves and first losses are part of the adolescent experience after all.

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer: I’ve read the Twilight books a few times and every time I come to New Moon I have to work up the courage to read it. I just don’t want Edward to leave!

Delirium by Lauren Oliver: I won’t give anything away about why this book broke my heart. Just read it. Love it. Have your heart broken a little by it.

The Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery: It breaks my heart that it takes Anne so long to finally admit her feelings for Gilbert. And the loss of a kindred spirit always requires a box of tissues.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler: Another story of young love and loss, this book left my heart aching long after the last page.

Looking For Alaska by John Green: I hadn’t been expecting my heart to break when I started this book but break it did. Poor Pudge.

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt: I adored this little story. And while I believe Winnie made the right decision in the end, it is very bittersweet.

The Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkien: I always find goodbyes heart-breaking and this finale was filled with goodbyes. Not only do you experience the characters saying farewell to each other, but you, as a reader, must bid adieu to this wonderfully imagined world and its inhabitants.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart

  1. Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit yet again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

Share Your Thoughts

