Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Mind-Blowing Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic was a freebie so I decided to write about the ten authors whose writing blows my mind. Here they are:

1. J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series: There are so many things I love about Rowling’s work it’s hard to know where to begin, but one of the things I love most is how imaginative she is. Not only has she created an entire magical world within our own but she has incorporated elements of our own “magical” history, like Nicholas Flamel (who was a real person FYI) and the believed uses of mandrake roots to name a few. It is details like these that make it feel like her stories could actually be happening, that if you just tapped the right brick a whole magical world could open up before you.

2. D.J. MacHale, author of the Pendragon series: No matter how many of his books I read, D.J. MacHale always blows my mind. Just when I think I’ve got the plot figured out he throws in a curve ball. Of the many authors I have read, I would say he is the best at always keeping me guessing.

3. John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars: I marvel at John Green’s use of language. He is so unbelievably smart with his writing. It can be at once funny and sad and poetic. When I finished The Fault in Our Stars, I couldn’t think about anything else for hours; the weight of it sat in my heart for a long time afterwards.

4. Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl series: His story lines are great, full of action and interesting, lovable characters, but what I love most about Colfer is his humour. He always makes me laugh.

5. Lauren Oliver, author of Delirium: Oliver is a beautiful story-teller. I adore the way she describes something emotional, like love, as a physical thing.

6. Tahereh Mafi, author of Shatter Me: I LOVE Mafi’s writing style! Almost every sentence amazes me. Her descriptions are so unique and so perfect for understanding her character Juliette.

7. Suzanne Collins, author of The Hunger Games trilogy: Collins had me from the first chapter. She’s created a very timely story that keeps me engaged the whole way through. I didn’t want to put it down.

8. Cornelia Funke, author of the Inkheart trilogy: Funke’s writing in the Inkheart trilogy is gorgeous. You can really feel her love of books and the written word flowing from every page. And what really blows my mind is that this is a translation from German! The translator has done a phenomenal job.

9. Veronica Roth, author of Divergent: Don’t get me wrong, I love this story and the world that Roth has created, but what really blows my mind is that on top of that Roth is the same age as me and already has two international best-sellers under her belt!

10. Daniel Handler/Lemony Snicket, author of Why We Broke Up and A Series of Unfortunate Events: This author is amazingly versatile. As Lemony Snicket, I love this author’s off-beat humour and outrageous storylines. As Daniel Handler, he does a fantastic job of getting inside the head of a teenage girl in Why We Broke Up. I can’t believe that the writer behind Count Olaf and the Baudelaires is the same writer who had me in tears over first love.

Who’s on your list?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Mind-Blowing Authors

Share Your Thoughts

